Governor Greg Abbott P.O. Box 12428 Austin, Texas 78711

Bruce Bugg Chairman, Texas Transportation Commission Texas Department of Transportation 125 East 11th Street Austin, Texas 78701-2483

Dear Governor Abbott and Chairman Bugg:

We wish to express our strong support and desire to see the Broadway urban corridor be redeveloped per the plans that have been underway for the past seven years. This major infrastructure project spanning from downtown San Antonio to Alamo Heights is long overdue for our most important urban boulevard.

The announcement of the Broadway corridor project has already catalyzed economic development. Since the redesign was conceived, developments costing several hundred million dollars have occurred along Broadway and much more is currently under design or construction. Economic studies predict \$1 billion worth of new investment along the corridor over the next ten years. This is a perfect example of a public investment providing returns from private investment at many multiples.

In addition to the added development, the project as designed will (i) substantially increase retail business in the area, helping small businesses thrive and providing much-needed jobs, (ii) result in measurable increases in pedestrian and traffic safety, and (iii) address significant flooding issues in the area and remove substantial areas of land from the flood plain.

The decision is simple: allow Broadway to prosper. Traffic studies predict just a few minutes of extra drive time over this 2.8 mile stretch of road. This is a small price to pay for the increased safety, job and business creation, the expected billions of dollars of new development, and the resulting increases in much-needed sales and property tax revenues.

Our community has already invested significant time, money and resources into Broadway's redevelopment and we are ready to continue to move forward with the plan. We ask that you do whatever is necessary on your end to facilitate this and remove any regulatory roadblocks.

Sincerely,

The following San Antonio Business & Civic Leaders:

Christopher "Kit" Goldsbury, Jr. Graham Weston

Bill Greehey Michael Amini

Sid Greehey Plack Carr

Bruce Hill Joe Straus

Paul McSween Ed Kelley

Steve C. Lewis Billy Atwell

A.J. Lewis III Thomas M. Evans, PhD

Karen Hixon Bobby Cavender

Walter Embrey Trey Embrey

Don Frost David Adelman

Steve Hennigan J. J. Feik

Bill Shown Randy Smith

Lawson Jessee Tim Blonkvist

Steve Allison Jack Spector

Jeff Rochelle John Beauchamp

Bobby Rosenthal Ed Cross

Louis Cooper Marise McDermott

Trish DeBerry Matt Brown

Suzanne Scott

Cc: Commissioner Alvin New

Commissioner Laura Ryan

Commissioner Robert C. Vaughn

Blake Calvert

